top of page

James Madison University Blog

Viewing Harrisonburg Through A New Lens

Updated: Nov 8, 2018

Jasmine Holliday


Being able to interact with my agency and seeing what they do for the Harrisonburg community was an amazing experience. Based on what I’ve seen through their website, my agency brings a new lens to the community of Harrisonburg and respect for the work that is being done.


The reason that I say, “new lens” is because, at least for my partner and I, we have never viewed Harrisonburg in this way before. I was aware that there are problems within the community that need to be addressed, however, our agency is helping me to recognize that there are problems in the Harrisonburg community way beyond the JMU campus. I gained a ridiculous amount of respect for the staff of the agency. They are doing a great amount of work that has gone unnoticed by some but is appreciated by so many. It takes a great deal to do what they are doing for the Harrisonburg community and being able to see what they have done has really helped my partner and I put things into perspective.


Developing this understanding of our agency really coincides with the idea of creating a relationship and good communication. Ben, a fellow classmate, discussed with the class how communication is vital to success. He guaranteed that communication with our agency will only make our relationship stronger. I believe my classmates and I are experiencing something quite unique. Not only are we forming a distinctive skill but we are also building a relationship with those who are making a significant impact on the Harrisonburg community.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page